The Underground Church

by Tim Sherbondy
TNC’s Ash Wednesday service opened my eyes to something that I have never given much thought to before.  For those of you who were not able to make it, the service was held in the basement of the Kerstens’ house.  This is where the youth group meets every Wednesday night.  As Mike was leading worship while playing a guitar, the realization came to me that this is how most churches in China–and many other countries that don’t have the freedoms we have–experience church every week.  

It hit me like a ton a bricks.  I am still feeling very grateful that we live in a free country, where we are free to worship God without the fear of being arrested.  Even as I am writing this, I am realizing how hard it would be to be a Christian in that part of the world.  They have to have such amazing devotion and strength to continue worshiping and living a Christ-centered life.  I am not even sure if I would be able to do that.

As you think about Lent this year, whether you are giving something up in order to make more room for God, or just trying to spend more time with Him, I encourage you to pray for our brothers and sisters who do not have it as easy as we do.  Pray for continued strength and protection for them.  Heck, let’s even pray for deliverance from the oppression they are feeling! Matthew 19:26 says “….with God, all things are possible.”
10 comments on “The Underground Church

  1. Love it, Tim! And that’s how the Christians worshipped for the first 300 years of the church.

  2. Lisa Hawker says:

    The photo is beautiful…look at how concentrated these people are on the Bible. they’re not thinking about where’s they’re going for lunch later…they’re thinking about the will of God and how precious Jesus is.

  3. Thanks for sharing Tim. I really love your reflection, and I’m glad to have you guys out here 🙂

  4. Good insight, Tim. What a gift it is to have you and Katie part of our community. Lisa: are you implying that TNCers are thinking more about lunch than . . . ? 🙂

  5. Lisa Hawker says:

    Ahem…no, I meant…uh…OTHER churches, of course!

  6. Really gives some good perspective. Very powerful.

  7. Katie Sherbondy says:

    Good job Tim! This is something I have not thought about as much as I should. I am lucky to be with you and see you grow everyday.

  8. How precious is the Bible to them. Notice how intent they are. Do we / do I do that today? The God of the Universe took the time to write down His Words to us. Do we take the time to read them? Jesus did, and He wrote them.

  9. Jim Klassen says:

    Also, sometimes it easy to get offended in some way in our life, and then consider to nurse our feelings and stay at home instead of going to church. They risk imprisonment and other kinds of abuse just by showing up!

    Jim Klassen

Leave a Reply

