The Invitation

Reflection by Robert Honcoop

In this season of Lent, I am reminded of all that Christ has done and where our focus needs to be.  This piece was created to encourage others in their journeys.  It is too easy for us to reflect on our mistakes, failures, shortcomings, and regrets versus falling into His loving arms totally forgiven, alive and redeemed.

THE  INVITATION
by Christy Weygandt
You are invited to a celebration
honoring & remembering the King.
The King himself has requested you by name
and asks that you bring a cup that He may fill it to overflowing.
Unsure, what can I bring?  The cup should be magnificent, formed and molded by loving hands, made strong through the hottest of fires, turned and created until it is beautiful, sparkling and shining with brilliance.
Disappointed, I can only bring what I have.  But the cup I have has tarnished over time, it has bumps and dents, even scratches.  It has been dulled by people and time.  It has been dropped, abandoned, and once filled with sweet things that have turned sour.  But it is all I have, so I come.
Ashamed, I am afraid to look into the eyes of the King as I am called forward.
 ~
Repentant I tremble and say, “I am so sorry, Lord, look what has happened.  I have scratches and dents.  I am tarnished and worn with time.  Some, Lord, are because I was careless, some are because I learned a hard lesson, some are because others bruised me and left a mark.  I am so sorry this is all I have to bring.
 ~
Forgiven, Christ lovingly reaches out and takes my hands.  I dare to look at Him face to face.  He smiles and turns the cup around.  In His hands it is full and shining and beautiful.
 ~
Speechless, I can’t believe it and yet I know what has happened.  My dents, my scratches, my bumps and bruises have all been washed away — totally clean and forgiven.  He speaks these gentle words, “When others show you the tarnished side and focus on your past, show them the side I have given you — a new beginning, a fresh start, a hope for the future.  My grace is all you need.

Drawing by Rebecca Weygandt

Remember:  “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

– 2 Corinthians 12:9
4 comments on “The Invitation

  1. Way to go family! Thanks for contributing 🙂

    For those of you who don’t know:
    Rob is my stepdad
    Christy is my Mom
    Rebecca is my little sister

  2. That was very powerful. Thank you for sharing.

  3. God gave beautiful gifts and talents to you all. Thanks for sharing them together with us.

  4. Bethany Briggs says:

    Thanks Rob, Christy, and Rebecca. This is something i needed to hear. Hugs to you all!

Leave a Reply

