Master of the Nivelles

By Lisa Hawker

I wasn’t raised in the church. I believed in a mish-mash of spiritual grooviness, and I was actively hostile to Christianity. But when I went off to college at the University of Kansas, I met two Christian girls who seemed pretty normal, and they bought me a Bible. Very strange things started happening and kept happening for the next 18 months. By the time I was a sophomore, I was beginning to think that maybe there was something to this Jesus. One afternoon, while studying for Western Civ (we were reading the Sermon on the Mount), I fell asleep and dreamed I was there, sitting on the hillside, listening to Jesus. When I woke up, my scalp was tingling. Soon after that, I had another dream, this time that Jesus was napping on my bed. Surrounded by a faint but rich golden glow, he was seven feet tall and dressed in buckskins. (Don’t ask me how then I knew it was him. I just did.)

Now, about this picture. Not too long after the second dream, I went into the Spencer Art Museum on campus. I’d never been in there before, and I don’t remember why I went there that day. But I ended up in front of this carving. The identification plate next to it says Master of the Nivelles Crucifixion. Belgium (Brussels or Nivelles), ca. 1500-1520. You can’t really tell from the photo, but it is as smooth as melted wax. I stood and looked at this carving for a long time, taking in every inch of it. I ended by looking at his face. And while I was looking at his face, his eyes opened. Not wood eyes, but flesh-and-blood brown eyes that looked deeply into mine. I actually yelped and jumped back, falling to the floor.

And just like that, as they say, my life was never the same again.

6 comments on “Master of the Nivelles

  1. aweygandt says:

    Thanks Lisa, what a beautiful sculpture and story.

  2. Love your story, Lisa! I can’t believe I’ve known you this long (only a year!) and didn’t know it. Thanks for sharing it!

  3. Jim Klassen says:

    Jim Klasen says February 25,2012

    What a message of God reaching out and touching you

  4. Faith Donaldson says:

    God is so good. He goes to any lengths to awaken our hearts to His love. This is a wonderful story of His love for you andI love how He knew what would get your attention. Man oh man,
    I can see why you jumped back.
    Thank you for sharing this lovely story of His never ending grace.

  5. Powerful story, Lisa. Thanks for being brave enough to share it.

Leave a Reply

